If there’s one thing I’ve learning after years of battling blemishes, blotchiness, oil, dry flakes, sensitivity, and numerous topical allergies, it’s to not. I use to think that I needed harsh skin care products and weird natural remedies to win the skin battle. Little did I know it was a one-sided battle, I the aggressor.

It all started when I noticed my skin became “oiler” than most in my tween years. Simply put, my skin was shiny. In retrospect, it didn’t look bad. In fact, I was always complemented on my “glowing skin.” But because society and the media had (and still has) such a nasty attitude toward “oily” skin, I thought it was gross, and I declared war.

I jumped on the bandwagon and bought all of those medicated scrubs, creams, and lotions targeted at the youth. None of it helped. Actually, everything I used made my skin burn, tingle, itch, or red.

After reading Paula Begoun’s

Don’t go to the cosmetics counter without me,

which I checked out from my local public library, and researching just how our body’s biggest organ actually works, I completely changed my skin care routine and never looked back.

Here are the key things to look for in your skin care:

  • Fragrance free
  • Dye free
  • Antioxidants like vitamins A, B, C, and E
  • Formulated without irritants like menthol, peppermint, and linalool
  • Ideally packaged in a pump or tube instead of a jar to protect ingredients from light and air, which oxidizes products (not to mention bacteria contamination that results from the skin contact of scooping product out)

If you use these gold standards, the list of thousands of products to try suddenly shrinks and can save you tons of money. I found my HG routine using CeraVe Renewing SA cleanser and Sunday Riley Bionic moisturizer.

Thanks for reading 🙂

KB

Leave a Reply

