I heard about the award-winning architect and diverse exhibits of the Perot Museum of Nature and Science down in Dallas, Texas and had to go check it out for myself. Rather than purchasing just an admission ticket, I splurged and bought admission plus entrance to one of their film showings that day. I didn’t think you could put a price on knowledge, but the girl behind the admission desk rang it up on her cash register for a little over $25. I splurged a little by adding a film entrance to my admission ticket.

Right off the bat, I could see why the museum’s architect won the Pritzker Prize. The building was incredible! It looked sleek and modern, and it was huge.

Inside, there were ten exhibits (minus the children’s exhibit) including information on energy, a space, dinosaurs, sports, the human body, gems and minerals, and more. It was a lot to truck through in one day, but I was determined.

I appreciated the museum’s subject diversity, but what I really enjoyed was the “Expanding Universe Hall.” I always love learning about space, and this exhibit really blew me out of the water with its interactive learning posts and fun quotes.

I photographed my favorite part of the museum—a poster and bench duo explaining the iron in our bodies are star remnants. How neat!

photo-9

photo-8

The film was also a cool takeaway from the trip. It was a National Geographic documentary called “Deepsea Challenge,” which featured James Cameron. Simultaneously spooky and fascinating, the documentary took me on a journey down to the bottom of the Mariana Trench. It was a real treat and well worth the extra $8!

All in all, the museum trip was a grand success! The museum certainly offers something for all ages and provokes museum-goers to let loose and have fun learning.

Thanks for reading 🙂

KB

Leave a Reply

